What Happens When you are caught with DWI
If you are a resident in Texas or you are thinking of visiting the place, it is important to know a few things that may happen to you there. If you are having many heralds to run while there, it will be good if you use a car. However before driving there you must know the laws of the land that govern driving in Texas. Although many drivers will ensure they follow the laws of driving when it comes to learning how to drive and obtaining license, they do not remember that they should not drink and drive.
When you are caught driving when you have unstable mind due to taking too much alcohol or any other substance that is controlled. That means it is not only drinking that will get you into trouble but also driving when you have taken drugs that give you impaired mind. You should, therefore not go behind the wheel when you have that state of mind.
It is important to know what to expect in case you are caught in that state and driving. There are a number of penalties that go with the first offense. If you have never committed the offense before you will pay some penalties but not too high. The penalties will increase as the number of times you commit the offense increases. For a better analysis of the penalties read more on the government laws on driving.
It is also to know the difference between minors and adults. The law looks at the people below 21 as minors. It is not allowed for the minors to drive while they have any trace of alcohol or any other substance in the blood. There are several consequences that the minors have to facing in case they are caught in the offense. There are several things that happen to minors when they are caught with the offense.
Some of the things that can happen to the minor is joining probation, alcohol education class, community service or pay fines. With minors they can also have installation of an ignition interlock device, serve a jail term or lose the right to drive or two or more of the consequences. As for the adults t depend on the seriousness o the offense. Their penalties more severe but they are not more than one. Firsttime you pay 200 dollars pr be jailed for 180 days. 2nd offense it is double the amount and one of the penalties for the minor. Third offense s serious and you pay $10000 and face jail term of 10 years. It is worse when you are caught while you drive under DWI and you have a child in the vehicle.